Dota 2 / 1 comment

The International 7 Invites Are Revealed

Three Slots for SEA Qualifiers

Maouie Reyes

Mere moments after The Summit 7 declared its champion, Valve has officially announced that Team OG, Virtus. Pro, Evil Geniuses, Team Liquid, Invictus Gaming, and Newbee, are all directly invited to The International 7.

Seattle will be stacked this August as 18 teams are prospected to battle for the Aegis of the Champions. In addition to the six directly invited teams, 12 more teams will be scoured from China, Europe, Americas, and Southeast Asia.

Three teams from Clutch Gamers, Team Faceless, Fnatic, Happy Feet, Mineski-Dota, TNC Pro Team, Geek Fam, two Open Qualifier winners, and Battle Cup Champions will have a chance to go to Seattle as three slots are given to SEA, arguably the most stacked region.

China, meanwhile, will also get three regional qualifiers slot. Two slots are reserved for European teams while CIS will get one. Americas, on the other hand, will get two for North and one for South. The Regional Qualifiers will begin on June 26-29.

For this years’ format, all teams will be halved into two groups for a single Round Robin match, wherein the team with least wins, in each group, will be eliminated. The remaining teams will then move on to the Double Elimination Main Event at KeyArena.

As per usual, Valve has given all its players a chance to compete for the biggest DOTA 2 tournament. The road to The International 7 will start with the Open Qualifiers on June 22- 25. If you have what it takes to be heralded as the new bearer of the Aegis, register with you team here.

The International 7 Main Event will be held at KeyArena in Seattle, Washington, USA on August 7-12.