Dota 2 / 3 comments

The Premiere League’s Encore

User photo standard
Gerardine Lucero

The Premier League is back for a second season starting on April 10, 2012.

The organizers made a few changes making this season a best-of-three series, with one point for the winner and none for the loser, unlike last season’s best-of-two. The prize pool stays the same with the champion walking away $5000 richer, while the first and second runner ups will walk away with $3000 and $2000, respectively.

TPL’s two-month long battle last season encountered a few problems but turned out successfully with Ukraine’s Na’Vi emerging as the overall champions.

Invite teams:

 Na'Vi  ItsGosu 
 coL  WW
 CLG  Fnatic
 Darer  Dignitas
 Quantic  NEXT
 mouz  Infs

This season, TPL’s target demographic will only be around Europe and America; the reason why the Absolute Legends have not been invited back despite placing third last season.

As opposed to the weekly playday we saw from season one, this season’s matches, which will still be casted by DotaCommentaries’ Luminous, are expected to be played daily at 18:00 CET on weekdays and 17:00 CET on weekends, while players can take a breather during Mondays as it is designated as a rest day.

“We are very happy of the first edition success’ which gathered more than 5 million spectators and produced a lot of great games. Moreover, we have received a lot of feedback from the community and we took them into consideration in order to push the entertainment at his best for the season 2. We do hope here at the Premier League that you will all enjoy the season 2. We are doing the best for it. See you April 10th!” says TPL organizer, Laurent “Ange” Blum.

Follow TPL's official channels on Facebook, Twitter and Twitch to keep yourself posted. A website will also go live at www.thepremiereleague.eu soon.

‘Til then, the question is; can Na’Vi defend their title or will another team come forth and take the crown from them?